IPL 2021 KXIP Team Players List – Kings XI Punjab Squad Details

Welcome to the IPL 2021 KXIP team players list for Kings XI Punjab in the 14th season of the Indian Premier League 2021. In this article, you will get the complete details of the KXIP squad with possible names of athletes who could get appointed to the team. Similarly, discover the retained & released player’s name list here.

Alright, let’s get started with the KXIP roster.

ipl 2021 kings xi punjab team players list for kings xi punjab in indian premier league 2021

IPL 2021 KXIP Team Player’s List [TBD]

  1. K.L. Rahul (Captain)
  2. Chris Gayle
  3. Ishan Porel
  4. M Ashwin
  5. Glenn Maxwell
  6. Mayank Agarwal
  7. Ravi Bishnoi
  8. Sarfaraz Khan
  9. Chris Jordan
  10. Deepak Hooda
  11. Hardus Viljoen
  12. Nicholas Pooran
  13. Mandeep Singh
  14. Tajinder Singh Dhillon
  15. Arsh Deep Singh
  16. Sheldon Cottrell
  17. James Neesham
  18. J Suchith
  19. Darshan Nalkande
  20. Karun Nair
  21. Harpreet Brar
  22. Mujeeb ur Rehman
  23. Krishnappa Gowtham
  24. Mohammad Shami
  25. Prabhsimran Singh

Kings Xi Punjab Official Stats

  • Owners: Karan Paul, Mohit Burman, Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia
  • Manager: Avinash Vaidya
  • IPL 2021 KKR Team Captain: K.L. Rahul
  • Head Coach: Anil Kumble
  • Home Stadium: PCA Stadium, Mohali
  • CEO: Satish Menon
  • No. of IPL trophies won: 0
  • Brand Ambassador: Preity Zinta

Also check: IPL 2021 Schedule & Venues

IPL 2021 KXIP Squad

Representing Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, KXIP is another underdog team in the Indian Premier League who never won the tournament & reached semi-finals only once. However, their matches are breathtaking to watch with the efforts they put & the work shown by the players on the ground. Kings XI Punjab is jointly owned by Bollywood actress Preity Zinta who holds 23% of the rights whereas Karan Paul, Ness Wadia, & Mohit Burman reserve 8%, 23%, & 43% respectively.

KL Rahul is the team captain of KXIP who is supposedly retained by the KXIP squad that resembles devastating batting skills by scoring 500+ runs each for 3 consecutive seasons. In the 13th season of IPL that happened last year, Rahul gained a 55.83 average by contributing 670 runs in 14 matches. His outstanding wicket-keeping talent has made him the backbone of KXIP & could remain on the roster for years to come.

Similar Article: IPL 2021 Score & Points Table

Also, the presence of Mohammed Shami balances the team & satisfies the need for a quality pace bowling attacker. Moreover, Shami took 20 wickets with an economy of 8.57 in IPL 2020. It was a memorable performance that gave the team back & forth victories in the previous season.

Similarly, cricketers like Chris Gayle, a Jamaican left-handed batsman is in the top list of priorities for KXIP to retain. Gayle has played numerous international cricket matches over the years. He has set multiple records in T20 format including the highest number of centuries in history. Chris also scored a 30-balls 175 not out record while playing for Royal Challengers Banglore & is considered as one of the greatest athletes of modern-day cricket.

Retained Players [TBD]

Based on the effective show of skills on the previous Indian Premier League tournament, below is the list of possible retained players that will be confirmed after January 20:

  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Deepak Hooda
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • James Neesham
  • Mandeep Singh
  • Krishnappa Gowtham
  • Chris Jordan
  • J Suchith
  • Murugan Ashwin
  • Tajinder Singh Dhillon
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Darshan Nalkande

IPL 2021 KXIP Released Players

Despite the big hype, Glenn Maxwell could be on the list of possible players to lose their contracts with the Kings XI Punjab franchise. He failed to deliver as expected by producing only 106 runs out of 108 balls without hitting even one six.

However, we cannot judge a player based on his bad performance in one tournament only because he has performed very well in other seasons. There’re a lot of emotions going on in the field & only the cricketer can explain what went wrong. Still, his spot on the team is unsure at this moment & could be a free agent soon after the IPL auction deadlines.

Plus, the West Indies bowler Sheldon Cottrell might get released as he took only 6 wickets off 6 matches. He was purchased for a huge sum of Rs. 8.5 crore (approx. $1.1 million USD) but delivered an economy rate of 8.80 feeding 5 sixes in 1 over against Rajasthan Royals. In the same way, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, another bowler from Afganistan, displayed a bad performance & could be on the verge of being released from the team for not taking a single wicket in 2 matches & throwing away 83 runs.

Other players who have possibilities of being removed from the KXIP squad are:

  1. Prabhsimran Singh
  2. Sarfaraz Khan
  3. Hardus Viljoen
  4. Karun Nair

Final Words

It is still a mystery which players will be retained and who will be released from Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League 14th season. As the official auction will take place on 11 February, we will update this ipl 2021 kxip team players list in real-time during the event. So, bookmark us right now to get the final KXIP squad.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.